School Holidays 16-17

School holidays 2016/17

August 2016

Teachers return on Thursday 11 August 2016
In-service days – Thursday 11 and Friday 12 August 2016

Pupils return on Monday 15 August 2016

P.1  pupils attend school for full day (flying start) from Monday 22 August 2016

September 2016

September weekend – Friday 23 and Monday 26 September 2016

Pupils return on Tuesday 27 September 2016

October 2016

October break – Monday 17 to Friday 21 October 2016

Pupils return on Monday 24 October 2016

November 2016
In-service day – all schools Monday 21 November 2016

December 2016 and January 2017

Christmas/New Year

Schools close at 2.30pm on Thursday 22 December 2016

Schools re-open on Monday 9 January 2017

February 2017

February break Monday 13 and Tuesday 14 February 2017
In-service day – all schools Wednesday 15 February 2017

March/April 2017

Spring break/Easter
Schools close at 2.30pm on Friday 31 March 2017*

Schools re-open on Tuesday 18 April 2017

May 2017
May Day – Monday 1 May 2017
In-service day – all schools Thursday 4 May 2017
Local holiday Friday 26 and Monday 29 May 2017

June 2017
Summer break – Schools close at 1pm on Tuesday 27 June 2017

Free online internet safety training

image

As the summer holidays draw closer, many children will be spending more time using their smartphones, tablets and laptops.

This ‘smart’ technology gives children access to new and exciting ways of communicating with each other but it can also present adults with the challenge of keeping up-to-date with developments on social media and ensuring their children are safe online.

Respectme, Scotland’s anti-bullying service, is offering free, practical online safety training for adults in Glasgow on 11th of August from 10am-12pm.

The training is designed to increase adults’ awareness of bullying and the other risks and challenges children and young people face online.

It includes a practical, hands-on session about the process for setting and managing profiles and privacy settings on social media channels such as Facebook and Instagram, to help ensure children and young people’s online safety.

Parents will be given full joining instructions when they book their place online.